Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that the charectiristc woven baskets which are known as Palean baskets, finally they are not uniquely Palean. This argument is based on the premise that archaelogists discovered Palean basket in Lithos, a village which was located across the Brim River and Paleans could not have crossed it as no Palean boats have been detected. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of logical flaws and mistaken assumptions.

One such flaw is the argument that no Paleans boats have been found and thus Palean could not have been able to cross the Brim River. Albeit, it is possible that after so many years as the Palean baskets were manufactured in prehistoric times, the Palean boats have been decomposed totally taking into account the impact of the river's water. In order to stengthen his/her argument, the author should cite specific historic and undenied sources which would demonstrate that indeed the ancient residents in Lithos had the knowledge and skills to manufacture woven baskets as Paleans.

Moreover, the author wrongly is based on the premise that the Brim River is very deep and broad. Though, this river in prehistoric times could be a small stream or maybe did not exist as geology after so hunder years surely has changed the area. To overcome this flaw, the author should make references to historic sources which would demosntrate that the Brim River was trully so broad and deep as current time.

The author also is incorrectly based on the premise that Palean could have crossed the Brim River only by a boat. Although, there is a possibility that Paleans have achieved to create so enhanced civilization for their era, that they had the mechanics, the skills and the knowledge to consruct a wooden brifge in a narrow location of the Brim River in order to cross over the river and reach the other side. To render his/her argument more valid, the author should mention specific sources which would depict the lack of ability of Palean civilaziation to construct a wooden bridge.

After closer examination of the passage presented, is apparent that there are several flaws. The recommendations in the eesay show how the argument may be strenghtened and made more logically sound.