The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the business manager of a television station argues that the station should expand the allocated time in weather and local news in order to attract new viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues at the future. This is based on the premise that the majority of viewers’ complaints are related with the coverage of weather and local news. Moreover his/her argument is based on the assumption that the cancellation of the advertising contracts from the local businesses can be attributed to the limited time of weather and local news. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been considered, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the manager assumes that the contain of viewer’s complaints are related with the duration of the weather and local news. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For instance, it is possible that these complaints focused on the confusing graphics that are used or the credibility of the news. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the viewers are complained about the curtailed time of weather and local news.

Moreover, the manager cites that the cancellation of the advertising contracts from the side of local business is also a consequence of the curtailed time at weather and local news. This again is weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the curtailed time and the cancellation of contracts. To illustrate further, it is possible that local businesses realized that the late night zone at television is not a commercial zone and thus they decided to invest their time in other broadcast zones.

In conclusion, the manager’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the manager should provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey among the viewers of the station. After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendation sin the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.