The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter considered, the writer has only paid attention to the birth order as a factor affecting the levels of stimulation. If the writer had considered other factors alongside birth order, his assertion would have been better. Also, the number of samples is not enough for testing and conclusion. In addition to these, the writer has not mentioned that the experimentation has been done in an isolated area, so the samples may have been affected by other things in the area of the test. In the letter, humans and monkeys are considered together, we have to see that whether these two cases have the same conditions and features.

According to the letter “A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation”. The answer to one question is opaque. Does only birth order affect the levels of stimulation? The effects of other factors, such as sex and age should not be underestimated. Also, the number of samples are limited. It is possible that with more samples and more variety, the results would be completely different. If the writer had mentioned the influence of other factors and had increased the number of animals tested, his conclusion would have been more persuasive.

In the letter, there is no evidence to show that the test has been performed in a controlled condition. So, the amount of cortisol produced may be affected by other external factors, such as sound and light. These are things that the writer did not consider in his test. His assertion had been acceptable if he would have claimed that the test would have been done in an isolated area.

Also, the writer has brought the sample of humans alongside monkeys. There is no evidence to show that the results of humans and monkeys are similar. They have different physical conditions and DNA and reactions. Therefore, we cannot say exactly, humans like monkeys or vice versa produce the same amount of cortisol in stimulating conditions. The result of the test had been more convincing if the writer would have brought two more comparable cases.

The assertion of the writer has needed more checks, and he has to resolve all the doubts mentioned above.