The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The new generation are so creative that they have a significant influence to the contemporary culture. However, because of this very creativity, the culture produced by these young people is prone to change and thus highly mercurial. In addition, a custom as a whole should incorporate the culture of all ages, not only the culture of the youth.

Admittedly, the trend of the young reflects the present culture in a society and is a epitome of how the society is changing. Since the new generation change very quickly and are able to keep up with the change, looking to the trends of the youth may provide insight into the nation's culture. K-pop for example, is regarded as the representative culture of Korea in many foreign countries because many people are attracted to the catchy melody and performances of Korean idols. Since many Koreans are influenced by these idols, young or old, understanding K-pop will help you to understand the overall Korean culture.

Nevertheless, the new generation are very capricious, and they are very sensitive to change. Consequently, their creation of a new customs and behaviors are sometimes ephemeral and as new culture comes to existence, others fade away into the oblivion. Foreigners and even sometimes people in the nation themselves have trouble keeping up with this change. For instance, in K-pop except for some prominent singer groups, most groups perform one or two stages after their debut and disassemble due to the massive competition in the K-pop market. Hence, it would be difficult to appraise one's culture by only looking into the culture of the young.

Furthermore, a culture is consisted of all generations not only the young. Overlooking the culture of the old would be like looking a single facet of a diamond. In addition, compared to the temporary nature of the youth culture, the old culture is more durable to change and thus by being passed down to following generations, becomes a core part of a nation's customs. All in all, to truly understand the culture of a country, one should understand how all these generations interact with each other to make a colorful harmony.

In conclusion, even though the young generate new styles and ideas on a daily basis, it would be hasty to conclude that these innovations represent a nation's culture. Rather, to get a good grasp on it, one should try to look at the complete picture.