The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Contemporary culture is an ever-changing process, what's followed today may not be practiced in the next five years. The trends shift from one paradigm to another infinitely and can even return back to the same thing. For example, men growing long hair was a trend in the '60s which died but re-emerged in 2010s. And the most effective method to understand most of the contemporary culture is to analyze the trends in the youth. The prompt stated above is partially correct for the following three reasons.

Contemporary culture basically means a culture that is extant. This culture could be anything from the style of clothing to the methods used for communicating. But in general, contemporary cultures are created by the younglings. For instance, in the late 2000s, there was a widespread following for low-hip jeans for men, which was primarily worn by late teenagers and young adults. Trends keep changing and the youth are the ones that engender these trends. Also, the communication style has changed in India from 'dude' in the 2000s to 'bro' which is predominantly used now. Hence to understand the new culture it is more efficient to analyze the trends in the youth.

Since contemporary culture is created by the young generations it is usually followed by them. Even though the elders might have come up with that culture, once they get older they tend to leave out on that culture and live more sophisticated. For instance, a young person would want to celebrate his birthday party drinking in clubs and pubs and loud music whereas an elder person would want to celebrate it by having a good dinner or a good wine with serenity. Time changes the perspective of things. So, to understand the modern culture it is more productive to analyze the trends of a person near college premises than an office.

Although, there are certain cultures that have been followed for years by the elder and the younger generations. For instance, in India, people get blessings from their parents and relatives by touching their feet. This practice has been in existence for many centuries and is followed by everyone irrespective of their age. Hence, it is not always correct that contemporary culture is only followed by the youth.

To conclude, it cannot be said that the most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of the youth because there are cultures which elders follow too. There are cultures that were used for ages and then disappear out of the blue and also, there are many that remain and also, new ones are created every now and then. But, in most cases examining the trends of the youth give away a lot of facts about contemporary culture.