“The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.”

Political leaders create an image for themselves by doing good or bad for the public. The image is also affected by the inherent skills and abilities they possess. But the accolades of a political leader has greater inclination towards to the skills and abilities than the challenges faced by them because of the following reasons.

Firstly, challenges are not overcome easily they require knowledge and prowess. The skills and abilities which the leader inherits is put to use to tackle the challenges and come up with a solution. It is a cause and effect relationship, without these skills the challenges would be still be present. For instance, Gandhi is known worldwide for ahimsa which translates to non-violence and not for the many movements he rallied.

Secondly, challenges are not the right measure to weigh greatness. Because every challenge is objective and poses different problems. It extent can be very small or it can also lead to a catastrophe. Since the depth of every challenge is unique, what is common between them is the application of skills to provide solution to various unique challenges. For example, a small town in the least populated state is devastated by the floods and the nation suffering from acute unemployment. Both are challenges which a leader has to look after and act upon, but the intensity is different in both the scenarios. So it is more focused on the skill and ability of the leader to act quickly and make the right decision rather than the event itself.

Thirdly, a new leader is elected based on his skills and abilities because that is the only thing he brings to the table. And he is judged by the public for the actions taken by him during a time of trouble and not by the end result.

Fourthly, not every leader comes out of a pickle successfully. There are many leaders who can’t overcome certain challenges but that does not affect the greatness or the image of the leader instead it is relied upon how he acts on it. For instance, in India poverty and unemployment has long been a standing problem for the growth of the nation, but even after successful failures at solving this, the political leaders are widely respected and considered great.

To conclude greatness of every political leader has a lot to do with the feats he has achieved and challenges he tackled but has a lot more to do with his skill or ability to come up with these solutions. It is because of these skills he can think and act quickly upon the challenges that has come across him. The greatness of the leader is more reliant on the abilities of the leader rather than the challenges that he has come across.