The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

Political leaders need to possess specific skills to perform their jobs efficiently. However, having specific skills is not commensurate with applying them while attempting to solve a problem. The greatness of a leader is measured by how they tackle challenges and not by their inherent skills.

Challenges in almost all domains are the best ways to exhibit acquired skills. Political leaders have a lot of opportunities to face these challenges and prove their competence or abilities. For example, suppose the Covid-19 cases in the leader's jurisdiction are proliferating. In that case, the measures they take need to be well thought of and calculated to mitigate the virus's spread efficiently. Similarly, strategic meetings can be conducted to discuss their issues to solve discrepancies with a neighboring region. Each of these situations calls for a different but undoubtedly sharp set of skills required to solve any problem precisely.

Further, challenges help showcase a leader's dexterity, but they also help sharpen their skills. Not just limited to politics, solving problems is one of the best ways to refine pre-existing or acquire skills. For instance, a leader may not be versed in tackling farming issues under his leadership in a relatively small region. While attempting to solve a problem, they may seek counsel from board members and talk to their subjects to better understand the scenario. The ability to adapt is crucial for a leader. The famous saying - Experience is the best teacher - conveys the same thought. Thus, good leaders adopt competencies while performing their job to facilitate the task.

Although most skills are tested while a challenge is being handled, this is not always the case. Some problems may assess a particular set of skills, and other tasks may not test these. Concurrently, not all tasks test all the necessary skills a leader must have. Consider, for example, maintaining decorum, conversational skills, eloquence, the ability to inspire, etc. These are some of the countless skills a political leader should embrace. Thus, facing challenges can test many essential skills but may not account for all of them.

Political leaders in these modern times have to encounter numerous daunting challenges and face major impediments while doing so. While having good inherent skills and abilities is beneficial, applying them to solve problems is an essential job of being a leader.