The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a thought proving issue of whether inherent skills or challenges are faced making a superior leader. Indusipdetly the challenging situations do make someone better at the given role. However, the skills and abilities of the person do play a vital role in his/her duties.

so, I would strongly agree that talent is significant when it comes to becoming a great leader.

Firstly, a person becomes a leader when he decides to be one rather than someone making him. For him to take this decision he has to be confident in his abilities. According to the book Emotional intelligence, children who have a natural inclination towards a particular skill become better at it, compared to the ones who are taught. That's why the term born leaders are coined. So, it's a person's inborn skill to lead people which makes a leader in the first place. Leaders like Mahatma Gandhi who were self-made decided by themselves to lead the freedom fight. It was his faith in himself that a fight can be won by non-violence that made him the father of the nation of India.

Secondly, not everyone can withstand the obstacles the role of being a leader brings. For example, if a person is fighting for a cause against a corporation that has political support and is threatened for his life. Only a courageous person can continue his fight. In the above-mentioned book, it is said that during difficult times only an emotionally intelligent person: one who can motivate himself in the toughest of days, stand by himself. This needs natural skills to continue as a leader. Nelson Mandela who was put in jail for 27 years had the hope that one day he would be out to celebrate what he was fighting for, freedom from racism. It was his patience and persistence which made him a memorable leader of South Africa.

Despite these reasons, it can be argued that the challenges faced will make an ultimate leader. As said, "Only the big waves make skilled sailors".However, if the person doesn't have the internal motivation to withstand that challenges and confidence that he can go through those tough times, he won't succeed at being a leader.

Leadership by far depends more on the personality of the one in the role.