An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that to fight back the vitamin A deficiency in the Tagus the government should promote the new millet high breed. Stated this way the author reveals several instances of poor reasoning, raises several questions, and leaves the reader of the argument highly skeptical. Though it may seem tenable at first glance careful examination of the evidence reveals that it doesn't support its claim. Thus the argument is rife with holes and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, what are the other sources of vitamin A available for the citizens of The Tagus? why did they didn't show any significant effects in improving the deficiency? The argument doesn't provide any information on these sources like carrots, tomatoes, and other fruits and vegetables which may be already available for people. If the evidence was provided that none of these sources didn't work then it would be justified the consumption of the new millet high breed. Without this information, it is not convincing to replace the new millet hybrid as the source of vitamins.

Secondly, what is the cost of the new millets available for the people? There is no information about the financial conditions of the citizens. If the millets are very expensive then what about the poor who cannot afford these costly millets. It would have been cogent if the author informed that the government should provide these millets at an affordable price for all its citizens.

Finally, there is no evidence provided to support that the new millet breed has been successful in fulfilling the deficiency. Have any tests been conducted before promoting these new millets? without any studies done on this, it can be suspected that these millets may not work or show any side effects after consumption. It raises several questions about the consumption of millets.

Thus, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further the author should address the questions stated above and should provide the evidence that its consumption is safe, with the help of a control group. Unless these issues are not resolved the people of the Tagus should be skeptical of its claim.