A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author claims that work-related accidents are caused due to unpaid sick leaves and can be reduced if the leaves are paid. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-mentioned terminology. To support the argument, the author reasons that the accidents may occur due to the effect of illness or medications on the motor skills of the person. While this may seem tenable initially, careful examination of this evidence provides little credible support to the conclusion. Hence, the argument is rife with holes and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the argument does not provide any information about the employees in the study. The percentage provided cannot be considered unless the number of employees in the study are mentioned. Without the employees count how can we assume that the paid leaves affect work accidents. These assumptions are made on no solid ground. It would have been more convincing if the author explicitly stated the details of the employees, their work environment and their actual count in the study.

Secondly, the author uses vague terminology such as illness. It should be first mention what kind of illness the employees have suffered in the research. Without any details of the illness and its causes, we cannot assume that unpaid sick leaves and work-related accidents are related. No correlation between them has been provided. This again is a weak and unsupported assumption. The author needs to provide more information about the illness so that the argument can be more conclusive to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that illness and medication are the only causes of accidents. The scrutiny of this evidence raises several skeptical questions. For example, Aren't there any other factors that may cause accidents apart from illness? Such as some kind of disturbances and distractions. This presumption can be improved by doing an investigation of other factors which may cause the work-related accidents and ruling them out. Without convincing answers to these questions, it can be considered that the author's claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantiated evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide more concrete evidence of how the paid leaves affect the performance of the employee. Also, a more detailed and analyzed study needs to be don. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the reader of this argument may be sceptical of its claim.