A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave

are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive

payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to

work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired

judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such

as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine

whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these

questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author concludes that, employees paid with less sick leave are less likely to be involved in work related accident than employees who do not

receive any payment for sick leave. Although the evidences cited by the Center of Disease Control and Prevention seem logical and probable, but the assumption on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the overall argument. Thus, the argument seems unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, percentage is a relative term. Therefore, small sample sizes could deter the conclusion from being appropriate. But what if there is not much discrepancy between the number of employees with paid sick leaves and the ones who do not get paid sick leaves? In that case the conclusion seems irrelevant. For example, if the number of employees with paid sick leave is 1000 and the ones who do not receive any payment for their sick leaves is 1005 then, there is no significant difference between the two and hence one cannot assure that the paid sick leaves are the the primary factor for

work accidents. This argument could have been strengthened if the author would have provided detailed information about the survey conducted for the number of paid and unpaid employees taking sick leave

In addition to this, the author assumes that paid sick leaves is the primary factor for work accidents. But, can the excessive amount of work imposed on the employees, or the peer pressure involved in a highly competitive work environment also account for the high number of work related accidents? Also are only sick employees involved in such accidents or do healthy people also fall a prey to it? Only if the author had provided answer to these question, would the argument prove to be more convincing. Even if it is assumed that sick people are more susceptible to such work related accidents ,then how can the author be so sure that it is fear of lack of pay that makes the employees feel pressured to work and hence fall ill? It may happen that even though the employee is ill, he wants to work because he feels that he would be overburdened later if he does not complete the existing work on time or maybe he wants to get himself promoted the next year and hence is determined to work extra even if he is not have the physical capacity to do so. Therefore, the author should at least acknowledge these questions as the answers to them would provide a more definitive opinion to bolster the author's claim.

To sum up, the argument consists of certain obvious loopholes and fallacies. The given argument would have bolstered if the author would have provided additional information of the number of people with sick paid leaves or probably find out other factors which caused these work-related accidents. But in absence of this data the conclusion is based on certain doubtful assumption that render it unconvincing as it stands.