A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during the time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

Recently, Center for Disease Control and Prevention found a possible correlation between occurences of workplace accidents and company sick leave policies. This has lead some to hypothesisze that due to a fear of not being paid, workers are coming in even when they are not physically fit to fulful their duties. In order to suport this hypothesis several things should be urgently considered. One, is the sample size of the study. Another is consideration on what other factors affect workplace accidents.

The sample size of a study is very important when considering its conclusion. For example, a poll of 5 people is clearly not enough to represent the feelings of all people. There are statistical equations for determining required sample size based on population size and parameters of the data. The conclusion should only be supported if the sample size is sufficient, otherwise the hypothesis should not be supported.

There are many factors at play when it comes to workplace accidents, and just because there is correlation between two parameters, it does not prove causation. It could be complete coincidence. Training time and methods could vary. Even safety precautions could vary from place to place. It should be investigated how similar these conditions are in the locations reporting high accident rates.

It is easy to jump to conclusions like this without proper support. While the researchers putting forth this statement may be correct, it cannot be assumed they are unless the proper evidence is generated. To do so, more data is required.