Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In devoting and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

An opinion which has been garnering increasing amounts of support recently is that schools should do more to prepare students for non-academic aspects of adulthood. I firmly agree with this sentiment for the following reasons. One, it is a school’s duty to prepare students for the next phase of their life. Also, it would benefit society greatly to have more savvy adults.

Students being better equipped to handle the burdens of adult life would create less of a tax burden on the government. If schools were to provide training in things like personal finance, it would reduce the amount of people who make poor financial decisions and require government aid to survive. Young adults would be less likely to go into debt and become a burden on society.

Not all students plan to go to college after high school, so they should be fully equipped to handle adult responsibilities like personal finances, nutrition, cooking, and so much more. Imagine an 18 year old girl whose parents pass away as soon as she graduates. Because she is technically an adult she now has to manage every aspect of her own life, and without proper training, will likely make many poor choices. Neglecting to equip students fully is setting them up for failure and subsequently a neglect of a school’s duty.

One might argue that they didn’t receive this training and turned out just fine, but that logic is deeply flawed. This reasoning has no basis in statistical fact and only appeals to the fact that there are multiple possible outcomes.

Another possible argument is that college will equip students further. Well, as indicated previously, not every student will attend college. Furthermore, these basic, fundamental skills are easily acievable with a high-school education. Delaying the process has no benefit and only serves to push the responsibility aside.

There are multiple views to the idea of training students for more adult responsibilities in high school. I think it is clear that the pro’s outweigh the cons. It is savy to equip students and equip them early to achieve a more stable society.