People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position

It has been said that people should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively. While arguments can be made for either case, it is prudent and responsible for people to regularly question authority. One notable point is that rules are made by people, and thus fallible. Another reason is that rules should serve some beneficial purpose, otherwise people will not follow them. For these reasons, authority should be frequently checked.

People make mistakes. No matter their title and status, rulers and rule makers are not perfect. Society’s needs and mores are always changing. As such, rules need changing on a regular basis too. Looking to Darwinism, we can see that animals which don’t adapt to the world around them are not likely to survive. In order to ensure the continued survival of the group, people must always speak up to ensure the authoritative body is adapting to the ever changing consensus.

Rules must serve some positive purpose or else no-one will follow them. For example, reduced speed limit signs on the highway in construction zones are less likely to be followed when no construction is actively occurring. Some rules are made during war-time and no longer relevant and serving a positive purpose. Thus challenging outdated regulations is a positive thing.

One might argue that following the rules without question will promote a society with less strive. But this assumes that the regulations are always beneficial. This is not always the case. If a rule is clearly hurting a large group it is certainly worth expunging.

While following the rules is taught to children as the correct course of action, for adults it is not the best course of action. People are prone to making mistakes, and a constantly evolving ruleset will outstrip a fixed one.