A nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college

The statement suggests that all the students of a nation be subject to the same curriculum until they enter college. This may have its own advantages as well as disadvantages which need to be examined before adopting the recommendation.

Students, in many countries, have the liberty to choose their courses according to their proclivity and acumen. They may take up classes, or take part extra-curricular activities such as sprts or clubs. By giving students the freedom to make their own choice, they are encouraged work towards their future from an early age. However, pressing the same curriculum for all the students of an entire nation for generations would be impact their lives immensely. Having the same subjects would undoubtedly help those who are unsure of what field they want to pursue. For instance, if a student does not know he has a penchant for literature, but him being introduced to the many verticals of literary work in school would help him find his niche.

Typical school subjects like Math, Science or History provide a basic knowledge essential for every child's future regardless of his professional goals. Artists should know basic arithmetic to manage his finances, a Math Professor should know about the Vietnam war and a Research Scientist must be proficient in language. No matter what a student in inclined towards, having a rudimentary understanding of a few domains provides immesurable benefits.

Conversely, all students studying the same curriculum may have a few disadvantages. Students may feel compelled to learn things they might or might not need in the future. If they are, by chance, unable to score well in a subject they dislike or have no predilection for, they could be disheartened and unmotivated. This can damage a child's confidence for life. A Math enthusiast finds difficult to pass Biology but he needs to get through to attain a good GPA, and get into a good college. It is, of course, unfair that students would be judged, not on the basis of their strong suits, but as a standardised criterion.

In conclusion, a homogeneous curriculum has a handful of benefits, but also poses a couple of disadvantages. A more flexible system in place of the same curriculum would help the students according to their needs. Every child is different. It is not correct to look at every one of them through the same glass. They should have the freedom to make their own choice, whether to take up certain courses, or to study a more general curriculum should be up to them.