Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, the government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Government intervention has been argued for ages now on whether it is necessary for the growth of small businesses. 'Laissez-faire' is a term coined by the 19th Centurian economists in 19th Century which literally means 'no government intervention in trade'. It was a practice commonly followed in the past but the circumstances have changed over the years. As the economy now is very unpredictable it is best for the companies' interest that there is interference by the government. The claim made above does not stand valid for the following reasons.

Small enterprises require finance to grow and expand their business. Many of these entrepreneurs lack the backing it needs to secure the investment they require. Government intervention can help these business units by bringing out a new scheme of low-interest loans or interest-free loans to foster the growth of small companies.

Prices of products in today’s market is volatile. Increase and decrease in the price level can generate either profits or loss for the business. In certain cases, the price may rise extremely high which is beneficial for the business but if the prices fall very short of the basic cost it incurs a heavy loss and for this reason, the state can put a lower cap on the price level also identified as the minimum retail price.

To boost the development of small firms the government can ease the tariffs and duties for small business units in their initial trading years. This will not only show signs of growth in the volume of business in already existing units but also encourage the formation of new enterprises.

In times of economic depressions, the government can ease some of the fiscal and monetary policies to decrease the burden on small businesses. Reduction in the tax level or increase in government spending can ease the effect of the economic downfall on the business units.

To conclude small units can succeed more with the help of the government. There are unforeseen conditions which the enterprises individually may not be able to overcome and require a larger force to rescue them. The government has the authority to bring in new laws and change the policies which are in favor of the growth of small business units.