In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

A government is a foundation for a successful nation, and is responsible for maintaining harmony in the country. The claim prompts that governments should not interfere in private business matters of small businesses in order for them to flourish. I strongly disagree with this claim and believe that government is an integral part for helping a small business to grow because of two reasons.

Firstly, Capital and investments are very important aspects of a business. These factors can decide the fate of a business. The government can help small businesses to grow by providing them subsidies and tax rebates. For instance, consider a country where the government levies high taxes on procurement raw materials and doesn't offer any subsidies to small businesses. The businesses are bound to fail because of the high investment costs and low profits. they cannot compete with 'Multi national Companies' that give the same goods at low prices. Now, consider a government that invests a huge amount on its small businesses and promotes start-ups by creating incubators. For example, the 'Make in india' movement started by the indian government promotes small businesses and development of goods inside the country, instead of importing the goods, thereby, promoting startups. The businesses are more likely to flourish in this country as they have the government support.

Finally, governments can help in keeping a check on whether a business is following the right rules and is not involved in any malpractices like venality, or any other felony. For instance, the demonetization in india by the government helped in flushing out a majority of 'Black Money' from the indian market and was a hinderance for the businesses that were involved in malpractices. this helped in keeping a check on the businesses, promote good business practices, and support businesses by creating an honest environment.

governments and the reforms laid by them are imperative for the growth of small businesses. Without the government, the businesses would work in a haphazard manner which would eventually harm the growth of the nation and it's businesses in the long run.