The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors at Monarch Books has recommended that starting a cafe as a part of the bookstore will not only attract more customers but also be able to compete better with Regal Books. They arrive at this consensus based on the customer base they built over a period of time. This decision is further factored by the decline in the percentage of children under the age of ten. Moreover that the children books generate less revenue. The recommendation stated forward is built around these factors. However, these claims are flawed because of the unreliable assumptions and weak evidence which are not considered.

The recommendation stated earlier depends on the assumption that all the customers at Monarch Books would also dine at the cafe. It is an unrealistic assumption since there is no evidence or survey on this matter, we cannot conclude anything. For all you know, the customers just come to the bookstore because of its wide selection of books. There is no evidence backing that these customers would come and dine at the cafe.

The boards recommend that they would build the cafe over the children's book section because of the underlying assumption that a decline in the percent of the population under ten will probably make children's books less popular. There is a lack of evidence to support this claim. Firstly, a decline in the percentage of the population can be caused even by one person less in the set from the previous set. So there is no clarity of evidence as to how much has the population reduced. Secondly, they mention the fall in population will probably make the children's books less popular. But they fail to mention the intensity of the probability. It may or may not happen. Hence, due to a lack of strong evidence the recommendation presented is fallacious.

The main objective of this new recommendation by the Board of Directors is to attract new customers and to compete with Regal Books. But what if the children's books generate the most revenue to the bookstore. Switching that part of the bookstore to a cafe just because of a decline in the percentage of the population under ten would affect the financials of the bookstore. The reasons are to be validated by the Board before taking a final decision otherwise they will fall short of customers and also to compete with Regal Books which was the primary objective of bringing up a cafe.

To conclude, the recommendation put forward by the Board of Directors are flawed with many unrealistic assumptions and vague reasoning to be considered acceptable. If Modern Books needs to achieve its goal then they should conduct a reliable study which can be validated with proofs and facts as to how the cafe should be built and how would it be profitable over the current system.