Governments should offer free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the most important tools in the world. Education provides knowledge and knowledge is power. Knowledge is the driving force for a successful person in any field on this hemisphere. The prompt is disputable whether the government should provide free university education to a student who is admitted at the university and is unable to afford the tuition. In my opinion, the prompt that the government should offer free education is something I mostly disagree with for three reasons.

To begin, the state should not start the practice of granting free education to those who are unable to afford tuition. Because this will encourage others to follow the same practice and cause financial waste for the government.For instance, many students work part-time to pay their tuition. But if this policy comes into action those part-time will be looking for financial aid from the government. Also, there is another set of students who do not have any financial problems and can afford the fee but poses as a student who cannot. This will result in the government spending excess money on education even for those who are well off. Also, it will become very difficult to fund these programs with the rising costs in other sectors like the defense, infrastructure, etc. It will be a financially blunder decision to give this policy a green signal.

Furthermore, the government should not offer free education at a university level because they already provide free education at various levels and provide a reduction of fees in certain cases. These services cost the government a big part of their budget. For example, many governments around the world offer free education until high school. Also, there are public universities which provide the best education at an affordable tuition. Apart from this, there are scholarships and fee reduction programs where one can enroll to get a rebate in their fees. These services to the students cost more to the government. And a further increase over the current level of spending will rupture down the government educational body.

However, there are certain students admitted to universities who are really in a position to not pay up the fees. The government should keep an exception to them. But it has to be strictly regulated. Certain standard conditions should be put forth by the university to avail these benefits by the government. Standards should be based on the credits(aggregate marks) of the student, attendance, financial check of the family. Only if the student clears all the conditions will he or she be eligible for the fee- waiver by the government.

Should the government provide free education? It is a controversial question which does not give a clear answer. There can be different versions of people’s opinions. On most cases, my opinion would tend towards not agreeing to the ‘free-education’ policy but during certain exceptional cases, it would be otherwise.