Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is the key of progress for any nation. Any country that is considered prosperous must have put education as its’ first priority. Countries in south-eastern Asia were able to advance significantly to appear in the world stage due to its huge investments in education. Simply, they weighed the cost of education and ignorance and found that it is cheaper to provide free education for its people. I strongly agree with the suggestion, that free high education is essential, because of the following three reasons:

First of all, free high education is an investment of a capital, which is -in this case- students, who had remarkable talents and skills, that allowed them to be accepted in universities. Governments shall consider this as a process of development of its human resources. For instance, the ongoing advances and inventions in Japan, especially in the software field, can be directly related to its free education policy, which enables students to study advanced sciences and contribute to the progress of the country. As a result, any country would benefit from this plan and absolutely will have a positive impact on its economy, culture and international prestige.

Secondly, a strategy of funding only those, who are in need, guarantees that the government’s budget is spent wisely. Every society has diverse financial categories such as poor, rich and middle class. Facilitating free education for financially prosaic students is an act of justice. A careful study of a student’s fiscal situation and granting scholarships based on that have a reflect on not only the stability of the government but also the morale of students. The egalitarian distribution of resources among citizens will build up trust and loyalty. Furthermore, students will seek to work hard to reach their required objectives, as they know, that they can equal opportunities to get free high education, regardless of their monetary condition.

Finally, committing free high education for those, who are talented, already got admitted to a university but cannot secure funding, assure that every student is in the proper place. For example, scholars with artistic skills can be encouraged to join the faculties of fine Arts or Architecture and other students who has a passion for science will keep pursuing it. Having every possible resource in the exact position is considered wisdom. Therefore, such countries may become an international destination for education.

All in all, many decision-makers see that free high education is costly and seems to be a burden on any government, they would also likely to invest in facilities such as universities and run it as a business, however the advantages of free high education are countless, only if it is well applied, as it influences the nation culturally, economically and internationally.