The following appeared in a letter to the editor in the journal Health Matters.

Statistics gathered over the past three decades show that the death rate is higher among who do not have jobs among those with regular employment. Unemployment, just like heart disease and cancer, is a significant health issue. While many health care advocates promote increased government funding for medical research and public health care, it would be folly to increase government spending if doing so were to affect the nation’s economy adversely and ultimately cause a rise in unemployment. A healthy economy means healthy citizens.

The author of this letter assumes that, the death rate is related to having a job and jobless are more vulnerable to death than those, who have jobs, based on statistical facts. Therefore, he claims that government funding should not be directed to health sector, because of the probability of unemployment rise. In contrast, he ended his letter with relating the prosperity of economy with the health of its citizens. Before this argument can be evaluated, three questions must be answered:

First of all, what is the age range of those, who the statistics is based on? Normally, when a worker reaches 60 years old, he retires and become jobless. Naturally, ages above 60 are more prospected to die more than youth, whom are under 60 years. For instance, the statistics for three decades would have been gathering date of retirees whom are very old, jobless and closer to death. If this probability holds any portion of truth, this would dismantle the whole argument, as it would have built its main assumption on fragile ground. Therefore, a careful study of the age groups of the statistics data is needed.

Secondly, how is the status of the public health? As health always comes before a job, the author shall study the condition of the public health. The reason, that some health advocates are promoting funds for public health, could be the deteriorating state of the citizens. For example, a plague is spreading in the country and it must be discontinued, therefore it requires not only a tremendous budget, but also assiduous efforts. This possibility might affect the author’s assumptions negatively and may even doubt his intentions. Thus, the public health status is an essential factor to evaluate this argument.

Finally, what are the reasons, that would cause unemployment to rise? Unemployment has many causes. Although funding is one of these factors, it is too superficial to decide preventing a raise to health care funding, that would have its negative effect somehow on the population. For example, in most of 3rd world countries, corruption is the first cause of unemployment, poverty and social injustice. Considering a country, that has corruption unchecked, this would easily boost unemployment rate. When this potential is eliminated, this would strengthen the assumptions of the author und thus, the argument. Otherwise, this could be an elusive hypothesis, that drive us away from the main reasons of unemployment.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is considerably flawed due to the shallow unwarranted assumptions, which it relies on. In order to evaluate this argument more efficiently, the author shall answer these three questions. Then and only then a better evaluation would be possible.