There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This argument states, that the relaxed pace of life leads to a better health and extends the expected lifetime of dwellers in small towns. Unlike the stressful pace in metropolis, which has a negative impact on people living there. The argument depends on the number of days of sick leave in a small city “Leeville” and a larger city “Masonton”, the number of physicians in both cities and a comparison between the average age of citizens of each city. Before this explanation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the location of these two cities? As it is possible, that Leeville is by a river and all of its citizens have a natural water access, unlike Masonton, which is more probably vulnerable to processed water, especially if it is located by the sea. Another important fact is, the quality of food this city, it is more common small towns to be rural, thus, organic food would be available to its dwellers, unlike big cities, where this kind of food is scarce. If one of these two examples – by any chance – have such a possibility, it would affect the public health of both towns and thus, the dependability of the first evidence.

Secondly, is there any deficit in physicians in Leeville? In other words, is there an abundant number of physicians in Masonton? Despite having only one physician for every 1000 people in Leeville, perhaps this only physician is working 24/7 examining people because of the lack of the number of doctors in Leeville. Moreover, practitioners’ number is higher in Masonton, yet they could not have much pressure as Leeville. So, the occupation of doctors in both cities should be put in consideration. Consequently, it could be possible that physicians in Masonton and Leeville have the same number of patients, if this investigation comes to be true, this would weaken the second evidence of the argument.

Finally, what are the demographics of Leeville and Manson? In Japan for example, the government is introducing some nutrition habits to its people and as a result, within decades the average height of its citizens increased by 10 cm. This could be possible in Leeville, as it is small town, people living there would be - more likely- indigenous, this means that, they have their habits for so long and they have always this long age symptoms. On the contrary, Manson city is larger and susceptible to people from different background, which will affect certainly the average lifetime of people living there. Therefore, the third evidence of the argument has a flaw regarding the population of both cities.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions as evidences. If the author can just answer these three questions, the evaluation of the argument will be more effective.