Over the past year, our late-news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The author of this memorandum stated that complaints from viewers were regarding weather and local news and linked it with the increment of the national news' time. He built his conclusion based on assumptions that local companies withdrew their advertisement's contract. Thus, he suggested retrieving the original timetable of the late news program. Before this suggestion can be evaluated, three questions must be answered:

First of all, what were viewers complaining about? There are many possibilities other than the dedicated time, that can make spectators protest. For instance, the content of weather news could be insufficient, local news missed an important event or a mistake was made during the daily forecast of temperature. If any of these examples has authenticity, the whole argument would be weakened, as the time devoted to weather and local news would not be the main cause for complaints.

Secondly, what is the status of the station's popularity? Another shallow linkage is between the time portion of national news and the abolition of advertisement's contracts. If I were a company, that I want to market my product, I would have selected the most popular TV station. Thus, local businesses might abort their contracts, if they saw that, the station's publicity is sinking. To understand this part better, an investigation, feedback or a survey is required to the main reason for abolishing the contracts.

Finally, who are the viewers? The reach of the TV station may reach a national level, therefore national news might seem more interesting to the observer. For example, if the TV station is broadcasting a national sport event, this show would be interesting, if the channel is popular in the country. Local businesses, on the other hand, would look for a TV station with a local scope. If this possibility holds any truth, the whole argument may not seem valid.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is considerably flawed, because it relies on unwarranted assumptions. If this argument to be correctly evaluated, the author may consider answering the three above questions, only then it would be possible to fully assess the argument.