Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the sales of an upcoming health food store would be lucrative, and the store prospected to be successful. The store proves to be most successful in a healthy area, this claim depends on Plainsville being a healthy area because of the following assumptions: the sales of training clothes is high, the health club has a great number of members, its classes are always booked and children are going to participate in a sport program. The assumption of Plainsville is a healthy area is too vague to be real. Before this argument to be evaluated, three questions must be answered:

Initially, where Plainsville is located? The first claim identifies that the sales of sports clothes are always high. This could be for a harsh terrain reason. For instance, if Plainsville is located atop of a mountain, plateau or near a forest. These tough terrains consume clothes and especially shoes because people might require climbing hard rocks. If this possibility holds any part of the truth, this would affect the dependability of the first assumption drastically. Therefore, Nature’s Way may have not any sales in Plainsville, because of the probability that, people are looking for high-calorie food to be able to make their living.

Secondly, why the local health club in Plainsville has so many members? The population of Plainsville could be really towering. If there is only one club in Plainsville and a lot of people there, it makes sense that, the club will always be even overcrowded. Plainsville could also be an attractive area and people is moving towards it. This does not mean at all that the whole population of Plainsville is pursuing sports and are healthy people. Nature’s way may choose a location in Plainsville, where most people do not care about sport or being healthy. Thus, it is a great risk generalizing that all people in Plainsville are healthy just because the local club is always booked.

Finally, how long is the fitness-for-life program? Opening a whole store for a program that more likely sooner or later ends is adventurous. Considering terrible winter weather in Plainsville that would eliminate any chance of training in schools, this may not only lead to the deficit but also to a probable bankruptcy. Another scenario is that schools have limited budgets for this program and cannot sustain on the long term. So, this would limit the credibility of this assumption totally. Moreover, Nature’s way would have disastrous impacts over revenues, if it relied on this assumption.

All in all, the argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more reliable evidences, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument