In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Infrastructure is considered to be vital for the economy, education, and stability of the country. This essay discusses whether the development shall be on improving existing public transport or on new railroads for very fast trains.

With an assessment of the current situation of public transport, it is possible to take a decision regarding which sector deserves the investment. Super-fast trains have prerequisites, although they are essential for further development of any nation. For instance, African countries, where paved roads are not likely existing, should concentrate on such levels of infrastructure. Normally, train stations are located in cities, where highways are present to connect it to other parts of the city. If there are no such roads, it will be impossible to reach a train station. Thus, in similar circumstances, planners must first introduce the first layer of infrastructure, which consists mainly of cars-suitable roads. Then, they can consider further planning of railways. As long as this basic requirement is not ready, any spending on railways is a waste of resources.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, super-fast trains are indispensable for the progress of a country. Even if it had already an efficient traditional rail network, it would better evolve. By evolving this transport technology, it would have a direct impact on the economy. When considering the distribution of goods across the country, the rapid delivery of raw materials and final products would not only increase the productivity but also the income. Furthermore, introducing swift transportation capabilities between cities would eventually increase educational mobility, because students would travel more easily to their universities. Moreover, in case of a military conflict, such modernization would affect the speed of mobilization significantly, as Germany did in the First World War when Germany was able to mobilize millions of soldiers and transfer them to the frontline within weeks. Therefore, it will contribute to the security of the nation.

All in all, modern very fast trains are out of question. As it is a matter of time, that all countries all over the world will utilize this technology, yet it has some requirements such as roads. Hence, I strongly agree that governments must invest in super-fast trains after fulfilling the previous level of infrastructure.