Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Helping others is a decent trait in a personality. However, we are not living in Utopia, where everybody is helping everybody without seeking any benefits. Actually, providing aid to those, whom are in need, contributes to stabilizing the whole community. Yet, the most probable solution is a win-win situation, that everybody is benefiting. Therefore, I mostly disagree with the statement due to the following three reasons:

First of all, people in our world are divided into different classes and always the resources have been scarce and people's numbers are rising. So, any society has helpless people, who are in deep need of help. This kind of person deserves unconditional support from those, who can. For instance, people in central Africa are living in the worst living conditions and some entities are delivering aid of millions of dollars. Certainly, they will receive appreciation, prestige, and publicity from all over the world, though it cannot be compared with the value of the aid. Thus, these kinds of actions can be considered as voluntary with no self-interest.

Secondly, human nature and his desire for everything, have a great influence on one's actions. Despite his true initial will of offering free help, he may change his mind to obtain any benefit. For example, a guy is helping a girl completing her essays free of charge. On one hand, at first glance, he might see, that the girl is really struggling with writing. On the other hand, he saw a chance, which the girl can support himself emotionally. In this case, a free act of help was offered, a need was discovered and the influence of that need on the act itself, changed it to be a mutual benefit action, where both of the parties are benefited.

Finally, self-interest is the prime mover in nearly all situations. It has a great impact on an individual's attitude. His personality will search for any possibility, which he can utilize it to achieve his goals. For example, a man who wants to immigrate, having this as his primary target, may have an opportunist behavior, waiting for any chance to profit from, even by offering help to others. Even this help is time-consuming, needs assiduous efforts or has a minor impact on him. He will do it anyway, to get closer to his goals. Thus, self-interest comes always first, though this about only a clash of personalities.

All in all, acts intrinsically have a motive. This motive could be a belief to help others out of religion, the desire of something in particular or a mere self-interest in a certain thing. Therefore, the issue is really a complex one, as it depends on personalities, which are too many to be counted. The majority of people do not act with no self-interest, despite this fact, the self-interest itself could be noble.