Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What motivates a person? cynics would argue that our actions are all driven by self-interest. however, this claim is one-dimensional and does not capture the richness of the human experience. we are an intelligent species, but sometimes we do not act rationally. our natural instinct for empathy and selflessness make us go against our self-interest, not only for the sake of loved ones but even also for strangers.

When on the train or bus, it is automatic for most people to stand up and offer their seats to those in better need of it - senior citizens, pregnant women, and people with disabilities. The able-bodied passenger who gives up their seat will not benefit from this exchange, which might even go against their own self-interest. one might be tired from work, riding in a crowded train and still have a long way to go to their destination. this passenger could easily stay in his seat and sleep for the duration of the trip. however, more often than not, we see passengers like these give up their seat out of respect and empathy for people who probably have it harder. Whether this act comes from cultural or personal values is not relevant to the issue. A cynic might argue that one is probably doing it for the show, just to be hailed and applauded. this is simply false - no one hands shiny medals to gentlemen (and women) who relinquish their seats. To the contrary, the act is too common, almost instinctive even, for people to pay special attention to it. this example demonstrates that people are capable of being altruistic even in the simplest of situations.

altruism is best exemplified by a mother's love for her child. The maternal instinct is indeed real, honed by millions of years of evolution, and probably a major reason for our success as a species. biologically, mothers' brains are hardwired to protect and care for their babies, ensuring reproductive success within the species. mothers will put their life on the line if it means saving their child - this has been proven time and time again in emergency rooms, where some mothers in particularly sensitive pregnancies choose their babies' survival over theirs. In the context of a society, being a mother may sometimes go against one's self interest. For instance, an unexpected pregnancy may cast a shadow on one's career prospects, as in some careers and societies babies are seen as a cumbersome burden. however, some mothers in these situations do push through with their pregnancy, despite the additional costs associated with taking care of a child and the unfortunate threat of being fired or sidelined in the office. Motherhood is a poignant testament to the selflessness inherent in and necessary for humans to flourish not only as a species but also as a society.

Lastly, real life examples of heroism show that an intimate connection is not necessary for altruism to take root. Stories of strangers risking their lives for other strangers are not uncommon during wartime or disasters. this is particularly true for soldiers, firemen, and other people in the line of duty. While cynics may argue that upholding their duty to protect the public is part of their own self-interest, fact is there is no greater self-interest than one's own survival. Thus, endangering one's life for the sake of strangers is an act against one's self-interest. there is simply no benefit greater than preserving one's own life, making martyrdom the highest form of altruism one can demonstrate.

The claim that humans would prioritize self-preservation above all else is a blatant disregard of the values we hold dear as people and as a society, our innate biological instincts, and the commitments we make to protect the public as part of our duties. The examples I have described are just the tip of the iceberg. For one to understand how other people can put their own interests in danger for the sake of others, one needs to simply live, care, and love.