Students should only take courses in college that have a direct bearing on their future careers.

Allowing students to only take courses directly related to their majors may seem advantageous at first glance. However, a more careful analysis will reveal that the opposite is true. Too strong a focus on employable skills at the expense of exploring unrelated fields will ultimately stifle creativity and innovation.

The push for a more streamlined college education can be felt throughout the globe. As industries become more specialized, universities which supply the labor market feel the pressure to churn out graduates which can satisfy the niche skills these industries demand. Superficially, this scheme may seem like a win-win situation for both employers and graduates. The former can more easily tap the unique competencies they require, while the latter can spend less time and money for college. However, this line of thinking is pernicious and ultimately harmful to both sides.

College should not just be a factory which churns out employable graduates. To the contrary, it should be an artisan's workshop which molds each student uniquely according to their individual strengths and talents. Because curiosity is an innate human trait, students who explore interests outside of their own fields are likely to have a more fulfilling college life. Furthermore, the additional skills they gain will not be in vain, as we know from history that innovation blossoms at the intersection of seemingly disparate fields. For instance, before the sequencing of the human genome, biology and computer science were initially thought to be immiscible like oil and water. However, the large dataset produced by the Human Genome Project required skills which never existed before - skills which were filled by those who had experience in both biology and computer science. Exploring other fields during college will make us future-ready by giving us a unique skillset which may eventually be required in the next decades. Thus, employing multidisciplinary graduates will also be a boon for businesses and industry.

With our fast-paced society's focus on pragmatism and efficiency, it is indeed tempting to push for a curriculum with a strong focus on students' eventual careers. However, this should not come at the expense of creativity and innovation, which most often blooms at the most unexpected places.