Students should only take courses in college that have a direct bearing on their future careers

A college curriculum should be designed around the career a student will pursue upon graduation.

today’s college curriculum requires that an english major completes courses in Physics, Biology, Chemistry (and even several units worth of a foreign language.) if a british literature student’s focus is, say later medieval english writing, his/her knowledge of warm holes or the nuances French etiquette is going to have less bearing on his/her career. Sadly, this student will often be forced to spend an extra year if not longer, struggling to complete these courses.

Meanwhile, that student’s goal of writing dissertation on Chaucer and becoming an expert in field become even more far distant. In the end, it is not unheard for a student to graduate and take some job unrelated to literature, just to cover the costs of an extra year of tuition. Of course, we should substitute in almost any other major and the story is the same: an aspiring concert pianist who must deal with the rigors of statistics, the scientist who must forgo working in research lab because of some pesky need on british literature. Ultimately, forcing students to take classes outside of their intended careers cannot only be costly and time-consuming but can also cause them to lose focus and inspiration.

However, some students are undecided when they enter college and be able to explore different fields of the study to understand which field is of their interest and in which field they would excel.

college today has become ritual in which students, forced to “do their time” are required to take course outside of their area of ability. The cost of this system is not only wasted years for students in lecture halls but also less time working in their respective fields.

college has long seen as the gateway to a successful career, and by extension, a successful life. While noble and lofty, this view has little bearing on reality – today’s colleges have become black hole that suck students into a never-ending cycle of classes that bear little, if any relevance upon their future careers. Therefore, a college curriculum should be designed around the career a student will pursue upon graduation.