Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the passage argues that the purported better health of residents living in stairs-only apartments is due to moderate exercise associated with unavoidable stair use. this assertion is weak, however, since the said observation can be explained by alternative causes which I outline below.

first, the author mentions a study which claims that people in stairs-only apartments live longer than those in apartments with elevators and stairs. At first glance, it may seem that the lack of elevators, and thus the inevitable daily exercise, is the cause of increased longevity. however, it is possible that residents of stairs-only apartments are younger to begin with, maybe just starting families, and thus they could take advantage of early medical interventions afforded by an advanced society. In contrast, older people may prefer apartments with elevators because of prior health issues. these older residents may not have had access to early medical interventions which could have prolonged their life, hence their relatively early death. Furthermore, stairs-only apartments could be more prevalent in rural areas where people are known to have longer lives due to better environments, reduced stress and healthier diets. apartments with elevators could be more concentrated in big cities where the population is generally less healthy.

A second study on the increased frequency of doctor visits for residents of apartments with elevators was linked by the author to decreased stair use. however, it is also as likely that rent for apartments with elevators could be higher than those with stairs only, hence catering to a wealthier clientele. people with elevators in their apartments could probably afford healthcare or may be covered by health insurance, thus they are better empowered to visit the doctor at the first sign of disease or discomfort. In contrast, residents of stairs-only apartments may belong to a poorer section of society who are reluctant to seek medical attention because of high cost. In this way, the disparity in the frequency of doctor visits could be explained by socioeconomic status instead of stair use. Moreover, as mentioned in the previous paragraph, it could also be the case that stair-only apartments are more concentrated in rural areas where hospitals and health centers are less accessible, thus making residents more reluctant to avail of healthcare.

The third finding claims that people in stairs-only apartments rate their own health higher than those in apartments with elevators. Again, this observation can be accounted for the possibility that stairs-only apartments could be more common in rural areas, where life is generally more relaxed and there is significantly less stress. The reduced stress and pollution may explain the greater feeling of wellness in residents of stairs-only apartments. people living in apartments with elevators are likely to live in bigger cities, where the stress of the daily commute, high living costs, and a faster pace of life could reduce the personal feeling of well-being.

In summary, the purported benefits of stair use can be explained by other factors, such as the rural location of stairs-only apartments and the socioeconomic status of their residents. To strengthen the author's arguments, he must show that these benefits are solely attributable to increased stair use and could not come from these alternative explanations.