Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt concludes that the clearest explanation for the various findings is the fact that moderate daily excercise required of residents who must use the staircase instead of the elevators increases their health and longetivity. However, this explaanation, as it is currently, is flawed as various alternative explanations were not considered. Three of them are discussed in this essay.

First, the author of the prompt did not consider the alternative explanation of correlation not causation. In each of the studies cited by the author as a premise for the explanation, there is only a measure of correlation of health with stair usage. There is no evidence to show that stairs usage leads to better health. For example, studies in a village in Germany showed that there was correlation between the popultion growth of a type of bird with the population growth of human babies. However, it would be clearly absurd to think that the increase in that bird's population is actually causing humans to give birth more. Thus, the associated with health and stairs usage may just be mere correlation. If the explantion of correlation, not causation, is true, then the author's explanation is clearly inadequate.

Similarly, the author did not consider the alternative explanation of reverse causality. In the first study cited, it might just be that it is because the great state of health of the people living in a stairs only house that they did not consider setting up an elevator as they are strong enought to use the stairs. Also, in the second study cited, it may also be that the elserly people who live in houses with elevators choose to live in those houses because their health could not allow them to live in houses without them. Thus, it is very possible that people will sub optimal health choose houses with elevators because of their prior health conditions while people with great health do not have those concerns, making the author's explanation incorrect.

Furthermore, another possible explanation for the facts presented in the argument is strengths and validity of the studies. This may be a case of reinforcement/ confirmation bias. The author may have chosen studies that seems to support his/her prior theory on the links between health and stair usage. The studies sampled by the author may be representative of the entire studies in that field. The number of studies may also be small. It may also be that the author discarded or ignored other studies that have shown other parameters such as nutrition played a far more causal role in health than usage of staircase. If this is true, then the author's explanation does not hold water.

To thoroughly judge the author's position, the author will need to ensure that these alternative explanations do not hold. For example, evidence can be gathered in the form of a controlled study to rule out the explanation of mere correlation and reverse causality. In the same vein, the author must show that the sample size and scope of the samples he/she studied were representative of the entire field. However, the explanation given by the author right now is flawed.