Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the years, humans have come to judge ideas across fields as to their viabilty or logical soundness. Our judgements have generally not always been in fields we are experts in. As someone aptly puts it; "As regards every matter, everyone usually has an opinion". However, the question here is how much of value can be placed on people's judgement, especially when they are not experts in the fields they are applying that judgement to. Critical judgement as reagrds any given work in any given field should be given by those who are experts in the field. Little value should be placed on any other opinions for three significant reasons.

First, to critically judge any work or subject matter, one has to have adequate knowledge of that subject matter. For example, it is not logical for a surgical operation about to performed to be termed impossible or even careless ny an engineer. While an engineer is a professional in his/her own right and should be treated as an expert in that field of study, it makes no sense for any substantial value to be placed on his/her judgement when the field of study changes. Even if the opinion is to be given by a dentist, as closely related to a surgery as the field may be, the opinion is still of little significance. Every field have their nuances and thus for any work in that field to be critically judged, it has to be an expert in that field. This would ensure that the judgement is as objective and factual as possible.

Second, apart from the esoteric knowledge individual fields have, the question of experience in that field in also important. For example, when Doctor Ben Carson wanted to attempt to seperate the siamese twins for the first time in known human history, the entire medical world and by extension, the society thought he was being overly ambitious and careless. However, his supervisor who had the experience in the particular set of surgical principles that Ben wanted to employ believed it was possible and rest, as they say, is history. There are also several other examples in history where not just the knowledge of the field was important to critically judge the work in that field butalso the experience in that field. Thus, to critically judge the work in a field both the knowledge of that field and relevant experience is important.

It might be argued that critical thinking is a skill that is not field specific. While this assertion may be true for general topics that everybody is fairly familiar with, it is simply not true for judging works that are very field specific. Critical thinking is an exercise that is very much based on the amount of knowledge one has in that subject matter. Without the adequate amount of knowledge, one runs into the errors of hasty generalization, correlation-causation misappropraition among other logical fallacies. Placing too much value on non-expert opinions would only cause avoidable harm in the long run.