ISSUE TOPIC: The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

How do you judge how good a musical talent is? Since talent is a statistical construct (unlike statistical measures such as height, weight and so on), it is usually very hard to accurately access it or worse still, judge whether one person's talent is better than someone else own. However, there is one test that every great thing or person must undergo to accurately and fairly judge it; the test of time. There are two very cogent reasons why the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately accessed until the test of time; the focusing illusion and the bandwagon effect.

Simply stated, the focusing illusion posits that nothing in life is as significant as it seems to be while there is a huge focus on it. For a famous musician, the illuminating effect of their fame could cause the extent of their talents to be over-blown. Glaring mis steps that would not be allowed for someone who is not as famous as themselves, would be overlooked as some form of artistic genius or creativity. This is why the test of time is important. As time go on, the super excitement caused by the focusing illusion would wane and people can objectively look at the talent of the famous musician and judge it honestly. The focusing illusion almost entirely disappears when the talent of the said famous musician is judged by people who were never before adoring fans, usually those who came in contact with the person's work way after the person has died. This is perhaps why artists like Mozart have been judged to have great musical talents because even centuries after he has died, his work is still greatly appreciated and studied.

Similarly, the bandwagon effect is another critical reason why the true talents of a famous musician cannot be judged until generations after his/her demise. People are easily swayed by the opinions of other people especially when it comes to issues such as fashion, music and so on. It is why there are usually cyclic trends exists in these industry. One day, Rap is the most prominent music genre; another day, it is pop. Since a musician is usually famous because a lot of people likes them, we cannot easily ascertain if this is because the person has very great musical talents or the bandwagon effect is in motion. Psychology has even shown that by an effect called priming, people may be tricked into owning other people's subjective opinions and thinking it is theirs. However, just like the focusing illusion, the bandwagon effect also subsides with time and people who were not introduced to the initial bias can objectively judge how talented a musician really was, even generations after his death.

While it is true that the focusing illusion and bandwagon effect may not necessarily apply to very famous musician, one cannot fully know in advance who it applied to or not. It may also be argued that some people of the age of the musician must have seen something that allowed the focusing illusion and the bandwagon effect to kick in. However, one must note the effect of certain influences in terms of people or circumstances that could have allowed these behavioural theories to kick in. Very often than not, randomness plays a huge role in terms of which people and which circumstances will allow a form of music or a certain musician to flourish. Thus, only time can tell how truly talented a famous musician was. It has to be noted that many of the musicians we celebrate today were in their centuries, not popular.