The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

For any unbiased assessment of an artwork to be possible, relative fame (popularity) of an artist shouldn't play any role. It always should be judged though a blind-eyed judge, who doesn't consider any other attribute than the art itself. Given this circumstance, judging a work of art at the times of an artist might seem irrelevant as " his or her fame might interfere with honest assessment". However, there are several reasons that might make the judgement of an art (music) more irrelevant, if it is assessed several generations after actual artist.

Firstly, music that was created by an artist at certain time would be only relevant to that time, and judging that music after several generation might prove it bland and insipid, which otherwise would have received well-deserved respect and fame. Music created in world war, for instance, may have enraptured audiences very well in those times; they would have been very interesting given the particular context. But, after more than 50 years, those piece of music don't have any relevancy; they would be deemed uninteresting- if not completely dull- by present-day audience.

Similarly, along with the content of music, as mentioned in previous paragraph, the taste of music among the audience might change with time, which would make older piece of music tasteless to audience of present generation. Classic music, for instance, was a very common and appealing to people few generation before. But, now those music, though liked by some part of audience, have become almost phased out. They have been replaced by rap and pop music; these kind of music enrapture audience more than classic. Ask anyone from this generation, which song would he/she prefer, most of them would say rap songs than classic. However, the situation was completely different few generations before.

In the same way, the sophistication of musical instruments have increased at ever-growing rate. Given this increase, the music that was created few generations back by simple instruments and recording procedure might sound very dull, though they were one-of-a-kind during their times. This sophistication in technology may have made us accustomed to only soothing pieces eventually changing our mark of good music, which can make our judgement of old music very much biased.

Finally, the proponents of above argument might argue that we may be biased by the fame of a person to judge a music piece. However, though one segment of audience and critic can be blinded by fame of a musician, the audience base and number of critics is so high in this twenty-first century that any music is destined to get unbiased comment from some part of audience or critics. It is almost sure that some flaws of a music piece will be pointed out clearly by some segment of audience. Even Bob Dylan, famous novel prize winner, has been criticised for his music pieces in the internet. So, through some point it is almost sure that a music point will receive a justified view of it.