Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible

The rift between rich and poor is growing at an astronomical pace. According to latest data provided by Oxfam, a UK based organization, world’s top 41 richest people accumulate nearly half of the planet’s wealth, and most of these richest people belong to giant corporation. This type of growing gap among rich and poor have made poor more dependent on richer population, and it is harder for them to make by without support from these corporations (see developing countries where people can’t join hands to mouth without some form of aid).

Though these corporations are not legally required to work for the betterment of society and people residing there, it is their moral obligation to do so. Moreover, working for the betterment of society can help them in creating conducive social environment, which is the crux of running corporation. Many poor population in societies, for instance, may be afflicted with various disease that they are not able to afford a cure. If giant corporation aid in bringing proper health care plan in the society then it would be helpful for people, and furthermore would help in creating healthy manpower, a crucial factor to run corporations. A healthy society is destined to be happy and peaceful, and corporation can work well in such peaceful milieu.

In addition to the betterment of society, the corporations should also take responsibility of the stewardship of natural environment in which they operate in; it is their moral study to do so as they mostly have huge amount of environmental footprint. Factories (goods), for instance, produce huge amount of greenhouse gases that are causing climate change at an unprecedented rate. In addition, solid waste produce by these corporations, without proper method to be re-cycled or re-use, are being stashed or burnt in many of neighboring environments, causing a great damage to it. In Indonesia, for example, tofu producers are incinerating huge amount of plastic waste to produce tofu (famous food in Indonesia), but the side effects of these burning are being tangible at accelerating pace as more and more people are suffering from breathing problems, so do animals residing nearby. Therefore, it is the moral duty of corporations to act to mitigate the damage caused by their activities. Such activities not only create positive image in public about the corporation, it also helps them to amass higher profit as their activity for environmental protection can elicit more costumers for their product: the costumer would buy goods(or use service) of those corporations that are also working for good cause.

Finally, though giant corporations are only obliged to act within the legal framework (that doesn’t include society welfare or environmental action), it is their moral obligation move outside the framework. They have extracted benefits from society exploiting natural environment and so it is mandatory to compensate for both.