Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

In the modern education system, grades are sole indicator of quality of education and competing for grades could be tempting to increase the quality of education. However, grade competition in education might invite serious consequences that can instead dwindle its quality.

Firstly, competing for grades makes students very narrow-minded, as they only read those subjects that bring them higher grades, and escape other subject matter that, though important in many ways, doesn’t carry enough importance to increase grades. Many students in Nepal, for instance, read only those subject matters that are listed in question banks (that includes questions asked in previous examinations) and escape those that are not asked in exams. This trend has proved detrimental, especially when, the escaped subject matter carries greater importance in further studies or in any other practical areas.

Secondly, being grade-focused also hampers conducive teaching-learning environment in schools as students develop envious feeling towards their competitors. While I was in school, for example, the top students who scored higher grades in exams wouldn’t share knowledge with each other, or even worse share wrong information to others. This would seriously disturb teaching-learning environment of class and sometimes even be a major factor for reduction of grades of the students.

The modern trend of focusing on grade competition also shapes the behaviour of teachers at school- mostly in a negative way. As most of the teachers are very determined to bring out good grades in their student’s mark sheets, they often use harsh ways to do so. There are many instances when teacher have punished students cold-bloodedly, just to force them to make a harder effort. This often results in embracement of unethical ways (cheating) in examinations by the student.

Finally, the critics of the above argument might argue that grades are the major catalyst for the students to work hard, and that they are the only incentive for the students to stick on their duty (study). However, in my view, the major driver of hard-work is not grades, rather it is the interest of students towards a subject. There are many students who work hard on one subject, and don’t give much time to the other, though they possess equal grade importance, due to difference in interest. Moreover, there are myriad of other incentives that can aid in increasing their perseverance towards study; they might be a career goal or just a craving for knowledge.