Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

It seems obvious that expert, having more knowledge in any particular field, are more accurate in giving critical judgement to any work than a layman. However, a deeper analysis of the claim might paint a different picture: the expert (though have abundant knowledge) may be biased, may possess fault-finding attitude or may not be able to represent overall public sentiment of any work making their critical judgement virtually of lesser value.

Firstly, experts in any field have their own views and field of specialization or may have propensity for certain task while having negative attitude towards others, and when they judge any work against this background, their judgement is destined to be biased. In politics, for example, people have their own view and belief, and when any politician judge any work they judge with their lens of belief. Liberals, for example, would criticize the increment in tax though the increment is beneficial to distribute income proportionately. On the other hand, conservatives might judge decrements in tax (that liberal think as beneficial) as pernicious to business and society as a whole as such increment would decrease the incentive to start new business.

In addition to bias attitude, most experts tend to have fault-finding attitude, and even when they don't have this attitude they somehow can detect smaller fault and end up criticizing about this fault rather than praising the work's positive aspect. Painting of Monalisa, one of the most famous work of art in the history, for instance, is loved by most of the people. However, there are several expert-review of the art in the internet that criticize the art for the minor fault that it possesses. Would the judgement that emphasize only faults be of value rather than the one that points out positive aspects of it? obviously not. Valuable judgments are only those that highlight the better part of work while also admonishing about its darker aspects.

Thus, when a layman sees a piece of work he/she judges the work without any lenses of biaseness; he/she judges the work solely based on the worth of the work and also without fault-finding attitude. Moreover, a layman is more representative than the experts as they represent any work in line with general public sentiment (as most of the people are not experts). So, it is always better to judge a piece of work by general people than any experts.