Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

In every society there are a number of role models who become successful to enrapture most of its members through his/her deeds and charisma. These models are chosen by the people, and they are obviously regarded as an epitome of perfect people. As they are picked out by the people of a society, based on their preferences, it may be tempting to generalize the character of a society through the characters that these heroes display. However, there are several flaws in assuming the character of men and women of a particular society solely based on these ideals.

Firstly, the ideals of a society are ideals because they possess characters that are unique (and ideal) in the society, and these attributes are not found in general population. So, how can we characterize a society as a whole based on the characters that are so rare, and not possessed by all? Nelson Mandela, the freedom fighter, for instance, was regarded as a hero in African society for his struggle, leadership and his dedication towards his work. Based on his character alone, we cannot directly infer that African society has men and women who have great leadership skill, an ample of patriotism and a passion to fight for the betterment of nation. So, the basic flaw in characterizing the society based on the character of ideals lies in the fact that ideals are not representative of whole society, rather they are unique in the society.

Secondly, ideals are chosen in the society for one’s particular work in a particular field; every field-art, science, politics etc- has their own ideals. Therefore, it is truly pointless in generalizing the character of men and women of a society based on the ideals of a particular field. Leonaro de Caprio, an American actor, for example, is a great actor and he may be regarded as an ideal by people who are truly interested in movies, and he may represent taste and preference of most of these people. However, there are people in the society who are uninterested in movies and we cannot afford to characterize these people based on the character of the actor. So, instead of representing the character of man and woman of society, ideals may represent attributes of a particular group people of a particular field.

However, there might be some instances where heroes and ideals picked up by people may not even represent any of ideals of society. In every democratic society, for example, people are bequeathed with the freedom to choose their leader; the leaders are regarded as heroes chosen by people. It is generally assumed that people choose the leaders with whom they feel close; who they think represents them well. However, there are many instances when these leaders have betrayed these men and women of society, and have done many unlawful deeds. Recently, a parliament member of Nepal was accused of murdering four villagers cold-bloodedly by burning them in a brick kiln. So, based on this, can we assert that people in Nepalese society are violent? Obviously not. Therefore, to understand character of society we should study the society as a whole not a few chosen members.