Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Leaders are people who can galvanize people towards certain goal, when there is a need of any change. Leaders are not created because they aspired to become a leader, rather they are created out of necessity. Though we cannot deny the fact that certain degree of aspiration is required to become a leader, need of a leader plays a major in pushing anyone towards that position . There are ample of evidence in history where situations, need of change and demand of anyone who can organize have given birth to well-known leaders.

Nelson Mandela, for example, was a simple man who wanted pursue a degree in law, and came to Johanesberg to achieve his dream of having a degree (very few people in his village had a degree). He never aspired to become a president of South Africa or simply a leader of any group; only thing that he wanted was a good degree and a secured job. However, when he arrived to the capital he came to terms with the oppression of British colonials, and how desperate South Africans were for freedom. This oppression and want of it’s removal needed a leader who could organize people to fight against the white regiment. This demand then created the freedom fighter- Nelson Mandela. Had there been no British rule in Africa, would Nelson Mandela be born as a “father of the nation” ? One can hardly say yes.

The critics of the above argument, however, might argue that the leaders are created so frequently in the world; almost every year a great leader is recognized in international platform. So , does the demand alone can explain the reason for such dramatic rise in number of leaders? Obviously yes. World is full of unsatisfied people, the rift between rich and poor, oppressor and oppressed is growing at astronomical pace. The only thing that most people want is change, and for that change people need to be organized, and organization always needs a leader. Without leader such organization is doomed to failure. In Hongkong, for instance, a huge demonstration is being organized; there is a great need of leader. However, without a distinct leader the protest and its outcome is in limbo.

Thus, our planet will never become a perfect place to stay for everyone. As long as we walk in same path as we are walking now, there will be dissatisfaction and need for change, and these changes will require leaders. So, we will have leaders in the future as we had in the past, but they won’t be produced by leadership classes(mere aspiration) but they will born out of demand (as they have in the past).