The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Given the evidence that Sea otter population in Neighboring Easter Carpenteria has dwindled after it was stripped off sanctuary status, it may be tempting to conclude that providing sanctuary status to costal lands would aid in preserving population of groundhog. However, it seems that there are several assumptions lurking behind this conclusion, which are mostly self-proclaimed rather than based on any concrete evidence, which can invite doubt on the plausibility of the conclusion itself.

Firstly, the argument asserts that there has been a steep decline of groundhog population in the costal area, but it doesn't clearly mention the cause of this decline. Though it assumes that development activities might have been a probable cause (as any development activities in costal land was prohibited), there are no studies(findings) that can buttress this argument. Several other factors such as rise in number of predators or increase in incidence of certain disease in groundhog might have been a possible cause of decline. Had these been cause it would be of no use to prohibit development activities in costal areas. Moreover, prohibiting the activities might invite negative consequence to the biodiversity status, as access to road might allow more number of researches in the area that can be useful in preserving animal lives there. Without these infrastructures, the area might not elicit sufficient numbers of scientists in the area, who could make ground-breaking researches to save animals like groundhog's population there.

In the same way, the argument also asserts that, because in Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, sea otter population dwindled after it's sanctuary status was abrogated, groundhog population would have to bear the same fate, if it is allowed to build roads in the costal wetlands. However, nowhere in the argument does it mention any compelling study that can bolster this assertion drawn from the experience of neighboring city. Firstly, the animals mentioned in two places are completely different, which makes the case that groundhog may not bear the same fate very much possible. Similarly, carrying out development activities might bring completely different effects in the two cities. While development works may have spurred a sharp rise in pollution in Eastern Carpenteria, it might not be the case in West Lans burg. Rather, road and other development activities may enable the residents in coastland build a number of infrastructures that can aid in preserving biodiversity in the area.

Finally, though from bird's-eye view, the claim that permission to carry out development activities in West Lansburg would eventually lead to decline in number of tufted groundhog (that is already declining at a rapid pace) might seem plausible, deep-down we can find many assumption that are completely unwarranted. So, it would be better if one could find concrete evidence for these assumptions and only take the forward decisions based on these evidences.