A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Any person who knowingly commits a crime has done a grave mistake in his life, and has also affected harmony and security of a society. He has violated his duty towards society, and so it may sound plausible to strip him off all rights that he is granted by the state- even the right to benefit from his own labor. But, doing so in turn may bring about more destructive consequences in a society due to which I strongly oppose such response.

Firstly, those who commit crime at certain times of their lives may have done so because it was only option in their playbook to tackle certain problem. In low-income countries, for instance, many people involve themselves in crimes such as robbery because they don't have any other means to feed mouths of their family. In addition, those who act wrongly at certain times of life don’t imply that they are always an ill-willed person. There are many examples when certain person, who committed grave crimes at certain times of their life, becomes a social inspiration later. Christina Randell, for example, served a five-year sentence after she was accused of robbery, but after she finished her term she started a You Tube channel, where she talked about pains of being incarcerated, and how one can tackle it. Now, she has more than 400 thousand subscribers in her channel and is affecting the lives of people positively. Does it, in any way, seem plausible to strip her right to earn her living through her work because she committed a robbery out of necessity five years ago? Obviously not.

Similarly, abandoning the rights of criminals might make them feel more isolated, and that feeling of isolation might direct them towards more violent crime. In USA, for instance, the rate of recidivism is rising up at very rapid pace these days, as people feel very isolated after they return from jail. If only a feeling of isolation from society can induce such a level of recidivism, what would stripping the rights that are needed for their survival would do? It would, obviously, create more dire situation in the society as these criminals would turn more violent.

In the same way, civil rights are in-born things attributed to a man; they are needed for the survival in society. Even if someone does a crime knowingly (breaking the social contract), he/she deserves the right to survive; everyone in the society deserves to get a chance. One should always consider human survival as a basic element of society. The crime is done; we can never get a robbed money back; or a murdered body alive again. The only thing that we can retrieve is a sense of goodness in a perpetrator; remove all the sense of ill-will inside him/her. So, we should instead take that chance.

Finally, even if a person who commits crime knowingly, he may have done it out of necessity, he may want to be good and peaceful part of society again, so one shouldn't strip off all the basic rights and make him/her feel more isolated, rather the perpetrator should be integrated in the society, and be given chance to be a good member of society.