The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Environment pollution is one of the biggest issues faced by major cities in the world. The burnt of environmental pollution exacerbated by climate change has brought about various health hazards, that has affected lives of city residents. It has become mandatory to mitigate pollution and its effects to establish healthy society, and reducing the amount of trash per household might sound a plausible solution. However, only restricting the amount of trash from each household would never be a plausible solution, and doing so might invite other negative consequences that in turn may exacerbate the present conditions.

Firstly, the amount of consumer-generated waste from each households solely depends upon the number of household members in each house. It would never be suitable impose a same restriction to a household consisting of very few members and the household consisting of higher family members. If such restrictions are imposed, people can rarely compromising to alter their consumption pattern, may adopt illegitimate manner of waste disposal that may harm environment more profoundly. In Nepal, for example, in places where government collects money for disposing the municipal wastes, poorer population tap into illegitimate method to avoid charges. As a result, there are streets, rivers and public parks that are littered with piles of consumer-generated wastes. If simply applying charges can bring this condition in Nepal, what would imposing restriction on the amount of wastes itself would invite?

We can, nevertheless, have many alternatives to this restriction that has proved very beneficial in different cities (in most developed countries like Japan and Singapore), and have provided many complementary benefits, in addition to safe wastes disposal. In these cities, government mostly collect wastes from people (whatsoever be the amount) and segregate them as biodegradable and non-degradable wastes, after which bio-degradable wastes are used to produce bio-gas and bio-fertilizers and non- degradable wastes are recycled and reused. In this way, consumers are given freedom to produce the amount of wastes they want to, and in addition, economic benefits is being realized through various products made after the processing of these wastes.

Finally, from bird’s-eye view, though, it may seem plausible to restrict the amount of wastes to mitigate environment problems in cities, a closer look may reveal very different scenario. So, it is better to give freedom to people to produce the amount of waste they want to, and then use collected waste material to produce different useful products: bio-gas, fertilizers etc.