The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Argument that states, in order to preserve the region's biodiversity, council of West Lansburg should not allow the access road to be built is not entirely logically convincing and it ignores crucial assumptions as well as follows and incorrect analogy. Hence, there are major logical flaws in providing the proof for presented conclusion.

Firstly, the letter states that, in neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar wildlife sanctuary to West Lansburg had noticed population decline since the repeal of the sanctuary status of the region. Now, it is not completely logical to imply that the decline in the population of sea otter in Eastern Carpenteria was only because of revoking the sanctuary status of that region. There can be number of reason that had a play in the cause. For example, it could be climate change that made sea otters to move somewhere else or maybe it could be a desease that had killed many sea otters. Just because there was a decline in population of sea otters after repeal of sanctuary status does not mean that that is the only reason behind it.

Now, coming back to West Lansburg and its tufted groundhog, the argument compares the situation of Eastern Carpenteria's sea otters with West Lansburg's tufted groundhogs. There is not sufficient evidence that suggests that is analogy is logical. Assuming that the reason behind decline in population of sea otters in Eastern Carpenteria was because of revoking status of sanctuary, it is not necessary that same is applicable on groundhogs in WL. The environment that is auspicious for tufted groundhog is clealy different than that of sea otters. The effect of human intefere will be quite different on groundhogs than it was on sea otters thus making the comparision invalid.

Evidently, the argument that letter presents are not logically sound. The evidence in support to the conclusion that building of access road should not be allowed is not sufficient. Since the analogy with sea otters is not very reasonable, the council of WL should conduct a proper study on the wetlands and lives of tufted groundhogs and whether the making of access road through the wetland wil have adverse efffects on them and the results of this study should help in making this decision.