"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The argument concludes that television station should restore the time devoted to the local news and weather to its formal level. While it seems logical that most of the complaints news company received were in regard to weather and local news and losing revenue from advertises, supports the conclusion, actually the premise is based on untenable assumptions.

Starting with the fact that in the past year, late night news program focused more on national news than local news and weather, which in effect caused viewes to file complaints. But what the argument fails to consider is that why is that pthe rimary reason of most of the complaints. News agency only provided little less time for local news and weather, not completely stopped them. In addition, argument states that "most" of the complaints were concerented with the coverage of news station. But fails to quantify the same.

Same goes with the cancellation of advertising contracts. There is lack of proper evidence that supports the connection of loss of advertising contracts to the content of the news. Local businesses may have different reasons to stop their contracts with the news company. For example, they want to switch to a different news agency. Or maybe they cancelled their advertising contrcats because of the decline in number of viewes of the news channel.

Later in argument, television station manager mentions that increasing focus and so time devoted local news and weather content will attract more views and advertisers while fails to provide any support to this prediction. Though, it could be the reason that low local content drove viewer away from this station, it does not simply imply that restoring the focus on weather and local news will bring them back.

While, the business manager of television station stated a reason behind the decline of viewership and advertising revenue, he/she failed to consider many crucial assumptions and providing proper evidence to support the new plan. If business mangaer analyses the data of complaints in past year with old data considering other factors in the play, then based on such detailed analysis only he/she can properly draw the conclusion.