The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

What does real talent of a musicion mean? It is based on the way he/she created the symphonies or is it based the feeeling music causes to the listener? While some asses the talent of musician only posthumously, I believe that the death of musician has no relation to the assessment of his/her talents.

For example, Beethoven had hearing deficiencies. Despite of that he was able to produce such beautiful symphonies. Some of his symphonies are, after all this time, still considered among the best. This kind of talent is exception. Such abilities are of cource laudable even when he is alive. It is the music on which the musician should be judged, not his/her fame.

Though popularity has a way of prejudicing the true assessment of music, there is also a good reason behind the fame. If the music is awe-inspiring or really soothing then only it gets popularity. Gaining good level of popularity itself shows that something is really good about that music. If the contemperory population finds a particular music great then it is not reasonable to say that its musician does not have a talent.

Denying the musician of the praise that he/she is worthy of, can often be discouraging. There are cases of stopping producing music or even suicides of musicians because of not getting proper feedback. Good critical assessment of music is necessary for musician to sharpen his abilities, while waiting for several gererations to provide proper assessment does not seem healthy.

Considering the reasons and examples mentioned above,it is not proper to assess his/her work only after the musician has been dead for decades, though the honest assessment of talent of a musician is not impervious to his/her fame among the population.