The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Biodiversity- quite a buzzword these days and an important one too. Earth is facing difficult times. Whether its global warming, climate change or maintaining endangered species. The prompt reads out to assert an opinion the author is trying to make about saving a particular species. He, however, fails to point out the logical consistency between the ideas.

First of all, the author talks about the declination of population of the groundhog over the years and he has adduced some historical data. So, question remains about the authenticity of the source of the information. The author did not mention any specifics as to where he/she got the information and he did not give any proper reference. So, the source remains unclear here.

Further, the author talked about the reducing numbers, yet, he did not indicate what may have been the probable cause of that. It could have been anything. Not always the situation is that whenever something happens, it is due to a man-made reason. For instance, the blue button fish that were seen abundantly in the coastal areas or Australia, now have shifted the course of their habitat. The reason behind this was, the live in a hot temperature zone in the sea and somehow the temperature of their previous area lowered due to natural reasons and they swam across Asia for finding the appropriate place to be. We can also mention dinosaurs that got wept off the planet due to completely natural phenomena. These example show that, a change in a species may occur due to natural reasons.

However, the author has mentioned biodiversity- an important and frankly burning topic of the time. He has presented an example of some neighbouring area that also had similar kind of conditions. In some extent, that is true. We are currently living in a time of mass development. And the rise of population demands many things. So, the population factor also needs to be taken into consideration. Back in 2004, maybe there were not too many people living there. We do not know, because the author did not provide any information on this at all. Now, in present times, there is a population boom everywhere. So, it would not be an exaggeration that people will demand more things as they continue to grow. If the road is not built, maybe the people will have to pay the price for it.

Based on the state of the information presented by the author, it is unclear how the whole thing is circulating. There was no mention of the appropriate or even a referenced information on the reason behind the mass reduction in the number of ground hogs. The author tried to provide a posteriori on the case, which means, in order to save the groundhogs, do not built the bridge, but did not say how building the bridge was going to affect them. A more sound presentation could have been offered with appropriate information source, cohesive links among ideas and the consequences resulting from this step.