Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Young and naive minds are malleable. They can be shaped in various ways. Whenever young people are given advice, they do not have the luxury to evaluate the merits or demerits of the advice, because they have no idea about that situation, they just believe what others tell them. So, this is a crucial point and these advice should be given properly because it might have some affects on him/her. The prompt suggests that young people hear different things regarding their future endeavors and says that they should take logical decisions whenever they are setting their goals. This statement, however, has demerits to a good extent.

To begin, the job market is ever-changing. The trends show that no one job is on the top of the market for a long time. So, even if a person chooses a "worthy" job, there is no telling that this job is going to always stay that way. For instance, nuclear jobs were very much popular before the 1980s. But, with the progress of time, due to different issues, this job has lost the value that it used to have. So, there is very much uncertainty in this field and we can not say for sure which job will keep its status.

Further, mental satisfaction is probably the most important thing in life. If people are to choose goals that they actually want to do, they would produce much better yield. Even if does not pay what they would have gotten at a popular job, the joy they would get is incomparable. This satisfaction would motivate them into doing something greater Like, if a person loved teaching little children in his free time, but his parents wanted him to be a banker, but he chose to do what he wanted to do instead, it might create momentary problems between him and his parents, but in the long run, he would be much more happier with his decision.

Again, humans have tremendous ability. They can put in their minds and do impossible things. If a person goes into doing something he/she did not want to do in the first place, will he/she do it right? For example, if a girl wanted to be an artist and she became a computer science engineer because of the "hype", she will not be able to do a good job. She probably would go to the office, have one of her drawings as her wallpaper and keep thinking about "what if". This is seriously problematic both for the person and for her employer. Because, she can not give her 100% into the work and producing sloppy results and her employer is paying her a good amount of money with very little in return.

In providing reason for the statement, it is said that people have selfish dreams. Well, "selfish' is a good thing here, because people will not do bad things for them. They will do the job meticulously. So, this will in turn produce a good result.

In conclusion, a person have choices when it comes to career path. However, doing this sort of thing logically without giving the heart a chance may not be a wise thing to do. Given all considerations, heart should win over brain in this case.