"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author here is worried about the choice of broadcasting and how the revenue generated by his channel was hurt due to some factors. The point of his decision was probably that national news is probably the most elaborate section any news program can present. An overall idea of what is going on all over the country can be gathered by watching this segment. As concerned citizens, people should keep up-to-date what is happening around the land.

Now, to talk about the issue, the percentage that the national news took on the late-night programs were increased. It is plausible that the unrest in the country went up. It is also possible that political turmoil has gone up, maybe a fall in the economy that is keeping everyone alarmed. The point here being, if there were not any probable reason to increase the footage time for national news, there simply would not be any increase. Because, frankly, no one has the time to stretch things for no reason. So, the merits of the decision of the broadcasting can be well seen.

However, people are also be concerned about their neighbourhood. If something happens in this area, that is going to affect them more than anything else on the country. So, in that sense, local news might just be a little important than national news. The furiousness of the people can be well understood because they might easily think that this channel cares very less of the area they are operating on. It is like the local people are being ignored. If any business making organization dealing with people are not caring about what the people are demanding, then no surprise that they got cut off profits.

Likewise, the weather forecast is also an important segment. There are many people who do not go out of home without checking the weather. Any smart person would do so. So, if the channel is depriving them of the things that they want, the viewers are very much likely to move on to different sources, like an application on their smartphones maybe. There goes the view, and the revenue with it as well.

A balance need to achieved between these two contrasting events. The importance of any of these three cannot be denied. Nonetheless, prioritization sometimes also takes place inevitably. For instance, whenever any breaking news of a certain topic arises, like in case of a bad national situation or any local accident or in case a big storm is coming up, in these cases, the particular area should be addressed more. However, for regular times, the current scheme might work just right.