People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Humans are called organic machines. They have this unusual combination of a logical side and an emotional side. Human psychology is a complex matter to analyze. Because they are governed by both logic and emotion, there is always a winning side of these two regarding decision making. The prompt presents a statement about how the chronological sequence of thinking logically and thinking emotionally can affect any decision making process. This statement has merits to a good extent.

To begin, whenever we have to make a decision, we can either think and evaluate logically how this decision is going to affect us, or maybe we can have a nonchalant concern towards the logical side and just do whatever it feels like. This is okay in the cases that are not too critical. For instance, if certain medical professionals are deciding on using an expensive drug to save the life of a patient, they can think this in two ways. They can either think that they would have to use it because there is no other better option right now, or they could think that this might cost a lot for the family of the patient financially. If, in this case, the emotional decision is chosen, then there might be a chance of failure. And to make matters worse, if they try to back up their emotional decision by logic by saying that they considered the money thing over saving the life of a patient, then it is very upsetting. So, this example illustrates how in critical situations, logical reasoning should surpass any emotional thinking.

Further, Before taking a decision, whatever that might be, it is advisable to at least think of the consequences resulting from this decision. Even when people have to make very day-to-day decisions, they should at least think about the result. For example, students have a tendency to skip studies and do other non-important tasks. They might reason it as "not feeling like it". But they need to address the negative results coming from this decision. Because, if they do ignore their duties, they might have to suffer in one or another way.

However, people might argue that they do not always have to be logical. There are certain conditions where they do not have to use the brain, for example, watching a movie. If someone has to choose a movie to watch, they would certainly go for movies matching their mood. This is not a very significant decision and might not harm the person in the long run, so this might be okay.

In conclusion, decision making can affect the individual in any ways. So in case of extreme conditions or delicate situations, people should always go with the brain. They should not make an emotional decision and back it up by logic, because that just proves they are careless. Nonetheless, whether the decision is significant or minor, their relative merits should at least be considered.