People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

It is often said that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision-makers. It holds that for certain situations, one should make a calculation, by whichever method is appropriate to the situation, to determine the best possible choice. However, some situations do not have quantifiable metrics by which to compare choices and some decisions, no matter how seemingly logical they may be, are not chosen because they will not make us happiest. How a choice makes one feel is a valid qualitative metric that should not be ignored when making decisions and a person who takes this into consideration is not illogical.

Let's take, for example, the decision of where to attend college. There are some quantifiable metrics one can take into account: cost of attendance, ranking, student body size, or even the number of eateries on campus. There are also qualitative metrics that are entirely subjective and can play a role in decision-making, for example, how one feels when visiting the campus. If a person has a choice between otherwise identical two schools, the choice is often made to go to the most affordable option. However, one might decide to go to the more expensive school, as they feel more at home on one campus and feel they would be unhappy at the other. This does not necessarily indicate a poor decision-maker or an illogical person. It indicates a person who holds certain values as more important than others.

While decisions such as where to attend college can be made using objective quantitative data and subjective qualitative data based on emotion, some decisions can only be made using emotion as sometimes one lacks information or time to make a methodical, calculated choice. The ability to make quick decisions under pressure without full information while relying mainly on instinct is an important skill throughout the animal kingdom. The statement that those who make decisions based on emotion incorrectly assumes that all emotion is illogical and that all situations can be evaluated with objective data.